« April 2010 | Main | June 2010 »

9 posts from May 2010


Mayor Announces Recipients of Teacher and Principal Awards

Teacher with students During a joint reception in City Hall, Mayor Gavin Newsom today announced the four winners of his 2010 Mayor’s Principal of the Year Award and the ten winners of the 2010 Mayor’s Teacher of the Month Award.  These awards recognize the outstanding San Francisco public school educators for their dedication, professionalism, and work on behalf of our City’s young people.  Recipients of the Mayor’s Award were nominated by the community – parents, youth, educators, administrators, and other community members – for excellence in their classroom, their school, and their City. “I’m very proud of all our principals and teachers.” said Mayor Gavin Newsom. “Even during these difficult fiscal times, our principals and teachers prioritize our students and provide an enriching environment in school and in the classroom.”

Four principals were honored during the ceremony, one for each division (Child Development Centers, Elementary Schools, Middle School and High School). The 2009-2010 Mayor’s Principal of the Year Award Winners honored included:

Mr. Raul Erazo-Chavez, Bryant Child Development Center
Ms. Sara Shenkan-Rich, Sherman Elementary School
Ms. Judith Giampaoli, Francisco Middle School
Mr. William Kappenhagen, Phillip and Sala Burton Academic High School

Mayor Newsom recognized the work of ten outstanding teachers, each representing one month of the 2009-2010 school year (September- June). The Mayor’s Teacher of the Month Award Winners honored included:

Ms. Trude Yazman, Commodore Sloat Elementary School
Ms. Karen Field, Galileo Academy of Science and Technology High School
Ms. Xiao-Lin Yin-Croft, Ulloa Elementary School
Mr. David Costanza, Balboa High School
Ms. Julie Coghlan, School of the Arts High School
Ms. Karen Leong, Francis Scott Key Elementary School
Mr. Robert Roth, Mission High School
Ms. Debra Netkin, Lawton Alternative Elementary School
Ms. Janet Nedeau, Thurgood Marshall Academic High School
Ms. Tanya de la Jara, Monroe Elementary School

The Mayor’s Award recipients receive a generous array of goods donated by private individuals, local businesses and organizations.


Mayor Newsom's Weekly Video Update

Mayor Newsom's Weekly Video Update - May 7, 2010 In this week's video update, Mayor Newsom discusses City revenues, the SFMTA budget, the new Family Pass and Bike to Work Day.

Watch now on YouTube


Muni schedule changes May 8, 2010

10may10_muni_schedule_changeEffective Saturday, May 8, the San Francisco Municipal Transportation Agency (SFMTA) will implement Muni schedule changes to most bus routes and rail lines.  These changes include reducing frequencies on most routes and hours of operation on some. These changes are part of a comprehensive cost-savings plan needed to bridge the Fiscal Year 2009-10 operating budget deficit ending June 30, and to aid in reconciling the projected budget deficit for Fiscal Year 2010-11, which begins July 1. Read more






Mayor Newsom's Latest Video Update

Mayor Newsom's Latest Video Update - May 3, 2010 Mayor Newsom signs SF budget reforms into law and unveils the Enterprise Department budgets for FY2010-11, investing in infrastructure and jobs for the future.

Watch now on YouTube